BYU Learning Suite does not currently support an admin role that would allow an instructor to give ‘viewing’ rights to another instructor (or anyone with a BYU Net ID). However, there is a viable workaround. We recommend adding the user in question as a co-instructor or TA and then hiding them from students.
Note: Any instructor or TA can be hidden from students. Other instructors will see hidden instructors or TAs in the Syllabus and Email tabs, but not in Messages.
Log into your Learning Suite course and select Users from the Course Home navigation menu.
Select + New Instructor to add a user as a co-instructor. Or select + New TA to add a user as a TA.
A dialog window appears. Enter the user’s last name or Net ID. We recommend using their Net ID because it is unique. Click Search when finished.
Note: The user will have the same rights as normal co-instructors or TAs so be selective with who is added to your course.
A dialog window appears. View the user’s name and Net ID . Check the box next to Hide this TA/Co-Instructor from students . Click Save .
View the added user in the appropriate section, Instructors or TAs. Note that there is a Yes in the Hidden column. This signals that the user is hidden from students in the course. Students will not view hidden users in Syllabus, Email, or Messages.
The user can be deleted at any time by clicking the trash can icon located to the right of the user’s information.
Questions? Contact the OIT Service Desk (801.422.4000, firstname.lastname@example.org).